22/16a- 2 · Record details
Explore documented wells and boreholes. Search source identifiers, inspect coordinates and compare available records.
NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes · 22/16a- 2
- Name / source ID
- 22/16a- 2
- Borehole / source record ID
- 22/16a- 2
- Sector
- Oil and gas
- Derived purpose group
- Exploration
- Operator in source snapshot
- NEO NEXT + ENERGY RESOURCES UK LIMITED
- Recorded spud date
- 1984-06-06
- Recorded completion date
- 1984-09-15
- Basin in source
- Not reported / not verified
- Area in source
- Seaward
- Latitude / longitude (WGS84)
- 57.3711252 / 1.1618321
- Status reported by source
- Decomissioned
- Source-reported measurements
- 4796.33 m MD · Kelly Bushing
- Source snapshot date
- Not reported / not verified
- Source accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Original coordinate reference system
- EPSG:4326 WGS84 service geometry; source TOPHOLEDTM attributes vary
- Source record updated
- Not reported / not verified
- Purpose / source classification
- Exploration
- Operator code
- Not reported / not verified
- Position accuracy
- Not reported / not verified
- Status effective date in source
- Not reported / not verified
- Well authorization date
- Not reported / not verified
- Drilling facility reported by source
- Not reported / not verified
- Total depth reached date
- 1984-09-03
- Source completion status
- Abandoned Phase 3
- Source wellbore status
- EXTANT
- Source well-origin status
- Decommissioned
- Flow class
- Dry Hole
- Licence number
- P120
- Total-depth licence number
- P120
Company roles reported by source
- Responsible wellbore operatorNEO NEXT + ENERGY RESOURCES UK LIMITED
- Licence operator at well originHARBOUR ENERGY PRODUCTION NORTH SEA LIMITED
- Licence operator at total depthHARBOUR ENERGY PRODUCTION NORTH SEA LIMITED
Source-reported measurements
- TDMDDEPM
- 4796.3300072904 m · Kelly Bushing
- TDTVDSSM
- 4707 m · subsea
- WATDEP_M
- 89.001599864718 m
Record-level intelligence
These tools are descriptive: not forecasts, reserve estimates or investment advice. Source coverage is partial; unknown does not mean zero.
Offset wells
Nearest atlas records to the reported surface location, by great-circle distance. Records from different catalogues are not treated as the same physical well.
- Drilling density · within 5 km
- 2
- Drilling density · within 10 km
- 27
- Drilling density · within 25 km
- 222
- Drilling density · within 50 km
- 1,406
All records: NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes.
| # | Name | Distance | Bearing | Recorded spud date | Measured depth (m) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 22/16a- 4 | 2.56 km | 275° | 1997-05-04 | 4,418 |
| 2 | 22/16b- 5 | 3.19 km | 199° | 1999-02-25 | 3,035 |
| 3 | 22/17-J1 | 6.74 km | 37° | 2015-04-23 | 4,359 |
| 4 | 22/17- 3 | 6.75 km | 37° | 2007-07-04 | 3,767 |
| 5 | 22/17- 3X | 6.75 km | 37° | 2007-12-28 | 4,657 |
| 6 | 22/17- 3Y | 6.75 km | 37° | 2007-11-28 | 4,118 |
| 7 | 22/17- 3Z | 6.75 km | 37° | 2007-09-22 | 4,633 |
| 8 | 22/16b- 3 | 7.37 km | 287° | 1990-07-24 | 4,724 |
| 9 | 22/21-D1 | 7.65 km | 219° | 1991-04-24 | 3,192 |
| 10 | 1J | 7.65 km | 219° | 1991-03-22 | 2,298 |
| 11 | 22/21-D6 | 7.65 km | 219° | 1996-05-21 | 3,106 |
| 12 | 22/21-D2 | 7.66 km | 219° | 1991-08-09 | 2,889 |
Thermal context
Nearest measured heat-flow sites (IHFC) and the source-reported bottom-hole temperature. Heat flow was not measured in this well; it is regional context.
- Measurement sites within 100 km
- 21
- Median within 100 km
- 59.0 mW/m²
| Measurement site | Distance | Heat flow (mW/m²) | Quality code | Publication |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 22/21-1 R24-P003236 | 12.6 km | 53.0 | Ux.Mx.------- | Andrews-Speed_etal._1984 |
| 22/18-1 R24-P003234 | 14.8 km | 66.0 | Ux.Mx.------- | Andrews-Speed_etal._1984 |
| 22/18-2 R24-P003235 | 17.5 km | 61.0 | Ux.Mx.------- | Andrews-Speed_etal._1984 |
| 37582 R24-P003229 | 32.8 km | 58.0 | Ux.Mx.------- | Andrews-Speed_etal._1984 |
| 37217 R24-P003225 | 32.9 km | 64.0 | Ux.Mx.------- | Andrews-Speed_etal._1984 |
Quality codes are verbatim: U1–U4 uncertainty class (U1 best, Ux not computable), M1–M4 methodological class (x suffix: incomplete metadata); trailing letters are perturbation flags.
Global Heat Flow Data Assessment Group et al. (2024): The Global Heat Flow Database: Release 2024. V. 2026.03. GFZ Data Services. https://doi.org/10.5880/fidgeo.2024.014 Licensed under CC BY 4.0. Wellficent shows parent-level site values and selected metadata; values are not modified.
Opening the map connects to OpenStreetMap. Pins use WGS84 coordinates; accuracy varies by source. Zoom into clusters, then select a pin. Coincident records open a filtered list.
Partial source coverage. Status and company roles are reported by each source, not independently verified as current. Unknown does not mean zero.
Mapped from source purpose; not current activity or a prediction.
Public administrative records are normalized with stable source identifiers. Original operators, drilling contractors and reported owners remain separate roles. Dates describe source access or reported events; they do not establish live activity. Coordinates are transformed to WGS84 where needed. Confidential records and personal owner fields are excluded. See each source for coverage, attribution and reuse terms.
Reuse terms: No item-level licence stated
Commercial permission unconfirmed
Source terms and attribution ↗
Contains information provided by the North Sea Transition Authority and/or other third parties.