9/28a- 8
Partial source coverage. Status and company roles are reported by each source, not independently verified as current. Unknown does not mean zero.
- Name / source ID
- 9/28a- 8
- Borehole / source record ID
- 9/28a- 8
- Sector
- Oil and gas
- Derived purpose group
- Exploration
- Operator in source snapshot
- BP EXPLORATION OPERATING COMPANY LIMITED
- Recorded spud date
- 1985-09-26
- Recorded completion date
- 1986-01-18
- Latitude / longitude (WGS84)
- 59.054944 / 1.576477
- Source-reported measurements
- 5191.96 m MD · Kelly Bushing
- Status reported by source
- Decomissioned
- Source accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Source snapshot date
- Not reported / not verified
- Original coordinate reference system
- EPSG:4326 WGS84 service geometry; source TOPHOLEDTM attributes vary
- Total depth reached date
- 1985-12-17
- Source completion status
- Abandoned Phase 3
- Source wellbore status
- EXTANT
- Source well-origin status
- Decommissioned
- Flow class
- Oil Show
- Source fluid types
- Oil
- Licence number
- P209
- Total-depth licence number
- P209
Company roles reported by source
- Responsible wellbore operatorBP EXPLORATION OPERATING COMPANY LIMITED
- Licence operator at well originBP EXPLORATION OPERATING COMPANY LIMITED
- Licence operator at total depthBP EXPLORATION OPERATING COMPANY LIMITED
| Source-reported measurements | Value | Reference |
|---|---|---|
| TDMDDEPM | 5,191.96 m | Kelly Bushing |
| TDTVDSSM | 5,136.79 m | subsea |
| WATDEP_M | 120.09 m | Not reported / not verified |
NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes ↗
Source accessed:
Reuse terms: unconfirmed
Contains information provided by the North Sea Transition Authority and/or other third parties.
ArcGIS item metadata does not specify a reuse licence; public access alone is not a licence.
Nearby wells and heat flow
These tools are descriptive: not forecasts, reserve estimates or investment advice. Source coverage is partial; unknown does not mean zero.
| Name | Distance | Source-reported measurements | Source catalogues |
|---|---|---|---|
| 9/28- 1 | 4.06 km | Not reported / not verified m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 9/28- 1A | 4.06 km | 4,277 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 9/28- 5 | 4.08 km | 4,270 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 9/28b- 17 | 4.13 km | 5,166 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 9/28b- 19A | 5.79 km | 3,879 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 9/28b- 19 | 5.81 km | 917 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 9/28- 6 | 6.14 km | 3,624 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 16/03c- 12 | 8.16 km | 4,726 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 9/28a- 16 | 8.20 km | 3,414 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 9/28a- 16J | 8.20 km | 2,741 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 9/28- 3 | 8.27 km | 3,157 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
| 9/28a- 9 | 8.34 km | 2,957 m | NSTA — UK offshore wellbore top holes |
Subsurface temperature and heat flow
Compare bottom-hole temperatures with depth and see measured heat flow near wells: context for geothermal reuse.
| Name | Distance | Subsurface temperature and heat flow | Quality flags |
|---|---|---|---|
| R24-P003214 | 132.25 km | 50.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.Mx.-------"]} |
| R24-P003221 | 141.63 km | 74.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.Mx.-------"]} |
| R24-P003228 | 148.74 km | 54.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.Mx.-------"]} |
IHFC · Global Heat Flow Database, Release 2024 (v. 2026.03) ↗
Source accessed:
Reuse terms: CC-BY-4.0
Source terms and attribution ↗Global Heat Flow Data Assessment Group et al. (2024): The Global Heat Flow Database: Release 2024. V. 2026.03. GFZ Data Services. https://doi.org/10.5880/fidgeo.2024.014 Licensed under CC BY 4.0. Wellficent shows parent-level site values and selected metadata; values are not modified.