CHALDON HERRING 1
Partial source coverage. Status and company roles are reported by each source, not independently verified as current. Unknown does not mean zero.
- Name / source ID
- L97/14- 7
- Borehole / source record ID
- L97/14- 7
- Sector
- Oil and gas
- Derived purpose group
- Exploration
- Operator in source snapshot
- Not reported / not verified
- Recorded spud date
- 1955-01-19
- Recorded completion date
- 1955-02-18
- Latitude / longitude (WGS84)
- 50.654370 / -2.306915
- Source-reported measurements
- 574.548 m MD · Rotary Table
- Status reported by source
- Decomissioned
- Source accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Source snapshot date
- Not reported / not verified
- Original coordinate reference system
- EPSG:4326 WGS84 service geometry; source TOPHOLEDTM attributes vary
- Total depth reached date
- 1955-02-17
- Source completion status
- Abandoned Phase 3
- Source wellbore status
- EXTANT
- Source well-origin status
- Decommissioned
- Flow class
- Dry Hole
- Licence number
- A168
Company roles reported by source
- Licence operator at well originBP AFRICA LIMITED
| Source-reported measurements | Value | Reference |
|---|---|---|
| TDMDDEPM | 574.55 m | Rotary Table |
| TDTVDSSM | 487.38 m | subsea |
NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes ↗
Source accessed:
Reuse terms: nsta-user-agreement-2023-noncommercial
Source terms and attribution ↗Contains information provided by the North Sea Transition Authority and/or other third parties.
NSTA User Agreement permits non-commercial exploitation with attribution; other rights may be excluded.
Nearby wells and heat flow
These tools are descriptive: not forecasts, reserve estimates or investment advice. Source coverage is partial; unknown does not mean zero.
| Name | Distance | Source-reported measurements | Source catalogues |
|---|---|---|---|
| CHALDON HERRING G3 | 0.12 km | 575 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| CHALDON HERRING G1 | 0.14 km | 40 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| CHALDON HERRING G2 | 0.33 km | 179 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| DOWN BARN 1 | 2.17 km | 4,854 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| DOWN BARN 1Z | 2.17 km | 4,016 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| CHALDON DOWN G1 | 2.97 km | 324 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| POXWELL 1 | 3.61 km | 508 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| COOMBE KEYNES 1 | 4.00 km | 2,499 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| RINGSTEAD 1 | 4.08 km | 49 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| CHALDON DOWN G2 | 5.47 km | 547 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| OSMINGTON 2 | 6.68 km | 364 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| OSMINGTON 1 | 6.69 km | 504 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
Subsurface temperature and heat flow
Compare bottom-hole temperatures with depth and see measured heat flow near wells: context for geothermal reuse.
| Name | Distance | Subsurface temperature and heat flow | Quality flags |
|---|---|---|---|
| R24-P057397 | 15.31 km | 78.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.Mx.-------"]} |
| R24-P021837 | 15.69 km | 78.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.M4x.xx-x-xx"]} |
| R24-P021819 | 35.95 km | 66.90 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.M4x.xx-x-xx"]} |
| R24-P060096 | 35.95 km | 67.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.Mx.-------"]} |
| R24-P069824 | 49.14 km | 51.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.Mx.-------"]} |
IHFC · Global Heat Flow Database, Release 2024 (v. 2026.03) ↗
Source accessed:
Reuse terms: CC-BY-4.0
Source terms and attribution ↗Global Heat Flow Data Assessment Group et al. (2024): The Global Heat Flow Database: Release 2024. V. 2026.03. GFZ Data Services. https://doi.org/10.5880/fidgeo.2024.014 Licensed under CC BY 4.0. Wellficent shows parent-level site values and selected metadata; values are not modified.