PORTSDOWN 2
Partial source coverage. Status and company roles are reported by each source, not independently verified as current. Unknown does not mean zero.
- Name / source ID
- L98/05- 2
- Borehole / source record ID
- L98/05- 2
- Sector
- Oil and gas
- Derived purpose group
- Exploration
- Operator in source snapshot
- Not reported / not verified
- Recorded spud date
- 1948-02-18
- Recorded completion date
- 1948-03-26
- Latitude / longitude (WGS84)
- 50.862309 / -1.092996
- Source-reported measurements
- 875.081 m MD · Rotary Table
- Status reported by source
- Decomissioned
- Source accessed
- 2026-10-02
- Source snapshot date
- Not reported / not verified
- Original coordinate reference system
- EPSG:4326 WGS84 service geometry; source TOPHOLEDTM attributes vary
- Total depth reached date
- 1948-03-25
- Source completion status
- Abandoned Phase 3
- Source wellbore status
- EXTANT
- Source well-origin status
- Decommissioned
- Flow class
- Dry Hole
- Licence number
- A182
Company roles reported by source
- Licence operator at well originBP AFRICA LIMITED
| Source-reported measurements | Value | Reference |
|---|---|---|
| TDMDDEPM | 875.08 m | Rotary Table |
| TDTVDSSM | 814.12 m | subsea |
NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes ↗
Source accessed:
Reuse terms: nsta-user-agreement-2023-noncommercial
Source terms and attribution ↗Contains information provided by the North Sea Transition Authority and/or other third parties.
NSTA User Agreement permits non-commercial exploitation with attribution; other rights may be excluded.
Nearby wells and heat flow
These tools are descriptive: not forecasts, reserve estimates or investment advice. Source coverage is partial; unknown does not mean zero.
| Name | Distance | Source-reported measurements | Source catalogues |
|---|---|---|---|
| POTWELL 1 | 0.38 km | 2,129 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| PORTSDOWN 1 | 0.86 km | 2,174 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| CROCKERHILL 1 | 6.08 km | 2,145 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| HORNDEAN 4 | 6.53 km | 2,065 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| HORNDEAN B2 | 8.38 km | 2,325 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| HORNDEAN B2Z | 8.38 km | 1,798 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| HORNDEAN B1 | 8.38 km | 1,828 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| HINTON MANOR 1 | 8.52 km | 2,094 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| LEE ON SOLENT 1 | 8.98 km | 2,085 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| HORNDEAN X2 (5) | 9.20 km | 1,551 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| HORNDEAN X2Z | 9.20 km | 2,189 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
| HORNDEAN 1 | 9.21 km | 291 m | NSTA — England onshore wellbore top holes |
Subsurface temperature and heat flow
Compare bottom-hole temperatures with depth and see measured heat flow near wells: context for geothermal reuse.
| Name | Distance | Subsurface temperature and heat flow | Quality flags |
|---|---|---|---|
| R24-P069842 | 21.94 km | 71.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.Mx.-------"]} |
| R24-P069832 | 36.77 km | 51.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.Mx.-------"]} |
| R24-P060091 | 40.50 km | 42.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.Mx.-------"]} |
| R24-P021809 | 40.50 km | 41.84 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.M4x.xx-x-xx"]} |
| R24-P060092 | 40.66 km | 52.00 mW/m2 | {"qualityScores":["Ux.Mx.-------"]} |
IHFC · Global Heat Flow Database, Release 2024 (v. 2026.03) ↗
Source accessed:
Reuse terms: CC-BY-4.0
Source terms and attribution ↗Global Heat Flow Data Assessment Group et al. (2024): The Global Heat Flow Database: Release 2024. V. 2026.03. GFZ Data Services. https://doi.org/10.5880/fidgeo.2024.014 Licensed under CC BY 4.0. Wellficent shows parent-level site values and selected metadata; values are not modified.